Week 14- Drawings-Elyse Vega

foodc

This week’s drawing activity was in the Japanese Garden. Now to be frank, I personally had never been inside of this location in both years of my time at CSULB, I even lived right next to it for a year and never thought to go inside. Through this assignment, I’m really glad that I did though. It is a beautiful location with great vibes, it’s really relaxing and free! I had no idea that koi fish could grow to the likes of the ones inside the pond either, so I spent a lot of my time looking at the and watching them eat. I’m really glad that this was the location for the sketches, there was a lot of inspiration here and a wide variety of art.

The ten, thirty second sketches were by far my favorite part of this drawing assignment. I feel like this gave you the freedom to be carefree about your sketches and let the marks land where they may. I’m not much of an artist, but I do like to sketch a lot, more like doodle to be honest but you get the point. So naturally, I was rather excited to actually have a nice scenery to depict. My favorite thing to draw was the pond and things inside of it. You can see that in my 30 second drawings, I drew the koi fish, the lily pads, and the flowers surrounding the pond. For the five minute drawing, I decided to draw the actual pond as one piece and the surroundings of it, as it is the main attraction of the garden. However, #7 was one of my favorite things to draw, excuse me for not knowing what these pieces are called, but I love the geometric shape of it, how there are pointy edges, then rectangular ones, I think it’s really cool and it was by far the best thing to draw. Other things like the umbrella and the “I love LB” bag were just things that I see in every day life that I wanted to try and interpret, and I was obviously not very good at it. This assignment was really cool and made me excited to sketch again, I’m glad Glenn thinks outside of the box for his classwork.

Leave a Reply

